Healthy Raw Vegan Peanut Butter Cups

Allow me to introduce you to my newest addiction…

20140415-074013.jpg

Mmmmm, now doesn’t that look tempting?! What’s even more tempting is the fact this little treat is completely raw, healthy and guilt free!

20140415-074023.jpg

Healthy Raw Vegan Peanut Butter Cups

Cacao powder
Coconut oil
Agave syrup/ maple syrup (Honey is non vegan)
RAW peanut butter (or any raw nut butter)

Toppings: Nuts, cacao nibs, coconut

Use organic products where ever possible!

1. Mix together equal ratio of cacao, coconut oil and honey (I usually used 3tbsp, which makes 6-9cups depending on size)
2. Add about 1-2tsp. to the bottom of a cupcake tin/ liner, then pop into freezer for 20-30mins
3. Add a layer of nut butter over the chocolate and pop back into freezer
4. Once hardened cover with a final layer of chocolate and lightly press in desired toppings.
5. Return to freezer for 20-30mins and devour all! (Store them in the freezer)

Enjoy!

Love, Jenny xxx

14 thoughts on “Healthy Raw Vegan Peanut Butter Cups

  1. Beautiful! I make a similar version, and I gotta say, it’s super yummy!
    Just one detail, unless you use raw peanut butter, this wouldn’t exactly be ‘raw’ since most peanut butters are made with roasted peanuts, and same thing with the cocoa powder (unless it specifies ‘raw’ on it). Just thought I’d mention it in case you didn’t know. 😉

  2. Hey Jenny, these look fantastic but I’ve been having some problems. For some reason the chocolate doesn’t fully set no matter how long I leave it. I assume that’s due to the honey but I’m sure. I’ve not yet tried with a bit less honey, i did try with none and while they set perfectly I just found them too bitter to eat which is why I’ve been hesitant to try with any less than an equal ratio. Have you experienced this at all?

    • I haven’t had issues with any of the above, if you feel it’s the honey, you can try substituting maple syrup- which is the vegan version. In terms of the bitter taste it’s likely to be the type of cacao you’re using, as some tend to be quite bitter.

  3. Hey Jenny, I was just wondering, would it make a huge difference if I were to use just regular pb? Not raw? Would it not set the same way or why does it need to be raw?

  4. I made these is afternoon and they are amazing! I made 12 (6tbsp each ingredient) and made raw almond butter, raw hazelnut butter, raw cashew nut butter and raw macademia varieties. Used agave syrup too instead of honey. Although they are all delicious, my favourite was hazelnut, it tastes like Ferrero rocher sweets! The only problem is I fear I am going to get through them all today! Thanks 🙂

  5. Will these keep for a little while outside of the freezer? I would like to bring one of two with me to work for lunch!

Leave a Reply

