Top Healthy Living Tips + Coconutty Caramel Buckwheat Porridge

And it’s officially flu season here in New Zealand, but thankfully I have just recovered. No more staying up at night, worrying that I will cough out my internal organs and going through tissues boxes at a time.

It’s become so normal for us to grab cold medicine as soon as we get the sniffles or a sore throat. But personally, I always avoid taking any sort of pharmaceutical medicine, because I don’t see the need in putting unnecessary chemicals in my body. I know that my body’s immune system (thank you IB higher level biology) is equipped with the appropriate responses to fight back the sickness in its own time. So, “what do you do then” you ask? Well, I do what every one of us should all be doing:

* Getting enough sleep! 8-10 hours every night. Now I don’t mean sleeping from 1am till 11am, I am always in bed by 11pm by the latest, on most days I’m snoozing away by 10pm and I wake up at around 7.30am. Sleep, is when our bodies are undergoing the necessary growth and repair, ensuring you are in bed before midnight enables that process to occur at its optimal level.
* Staying hydrated, I drink 6-8L of water daily. I know that is a lot of water to drink, but try to at least aim for 2L of water. If you find the taste of water too bland, try infusing it with different fruits such as lemons, oranges, berries etc. find a combination you enjoy and drink up!
* Providing my body with the appropriate nutrients- High Carb Vegan foods, and lots of it! (you can read more about the HCLF lifestyle here)
* Staying active! If you don’t feel well enough to exercise, go for a short walk with some friends or family. Try to avoid locking yourself up in your room all day (I know it’s very tempting!) which leads me to my final point…
* Get fresh air! And sunshine (if the weather permits) Something that many of us neglect, especially when working indoors, in air-conditioned areas for hours. Our bodies need that daily dose of fresh air and vitamin D.

Of course, I am no doctor, but what I have been doing has worked very well for myself, so I thought it was only fair that I shared this with all of you!

That’s enough of my rambling, now onto what you all came here to read about: the recipe for my Coconutty Caramel Buckwheat Porridge!

20140726-193948-70788364.jpg

Coconutty Caramel Buckwheat Porridge
1 Serving

1/2c. buckwheat groats
1/4c. water
1/2c. coconut milk
1 ripe mashed banana
4-6 juicy medjool dates (pitted and soaked in 1/4c. boiling water for 10mins)
1-2tbsp. coconut sugar

Please remember to soak your buckwheat groats in water overnight. Phytic acid is an acid present in nuts, grains and legumes. Therefore soaking these foods is essential for proper digestion and absorption of their nutrients.

1. Bring the water to a boil in a saucepan, then add the buckwheat. Turn the stove to low heat and allow to simmer for approx 3-4 minutes.
3. Meanwhile, add the dates to a blender with the water and combine till smooth.
4. Once the water has been absorbed add half of the coconut milk and the mashed banana. Continue stirring.
5. After 2-3minutes slowly pour in the date mixture, coconut sugar and remaining milk.
6. Cook for a little longer, to desired consistency, then transfer to a bowl.

Enjoy!

Love, Jenny xxx

Leave a Reply

