My Current Favourite Reads + Tips on a Sound Mind

Today I thought I would post something a little different, my blog is all about healthy living, to truly thrive everyday through correct nourishment and treating yourself right. But well-being isn’t merely limited to the physical aspects, I believe that having a sound mind is equally important (thus why mediation is often recommended and encouraged amongst the holistic health community). A few things I like to do every now and then, which I’ve found helps keep my mind sane in the chaotic rush of life include:

Journalling; now before you skip past this paragraph, please hear me out! I’m guessing the first image that popped into your head when you read the word ‘journalling’, is most likely a little girl scribbling her day’s details into her secret diary, ‘Dear diary, today I…’– Because that was certainly the image I immediately associated with journalling. However, one of the qualities I try very hard to attain to in my everyday life, is to be open-minded, so I decided to give this a whirl. Five months later, I can say with certainty that journalling has become a regular and crucial habit in my routine, I find translating my thoughts to paper and somewhat reorganizing them into a constructive manner, extremely satisfying and therapeutic. Not only is it a great way to record you memories, you will be pleasantly surprised by how much you learn about yourself; your mind, psychology and emotions. “But, what do I write about” you ask? Write about anything you want to, it’s your journal after all! Start off with a couple of sentences every few days, and over time you will find what works for you.

Praying; I cannot express how much God has blessed me throughout my life, although I’ve faced a fair amount of trials and difficulties, He has always stood by me and given me the strength to pull through. I would not be who I am today, and maybe not here at all, if it weren’t for His love and grace. Everyday I dedicate time to really connect with God and it makes all the difference in my day.

Reading inspirational and motivational articles, which is what I want to focus my post on today. I would like to dedicate this post to sharing (and thanking!) my current choice of blogs to read, as well as my favourite posts from each of them.

4ba6d0a59b1e77a96320d48a0c38d1fb

INTO MIND

Minimalism: A Beginner’s GuideAlthough I hate to admit, I have always been quite a materialistic person- a shopaholic, hoarder of apparel, shoes, bags, beauty, skincare… Over the years I have definitely learnt to cut down on my physical possessions, but it is something I am continually working on. So, this article I found particularly insightful and the major concepts have been lingering in my mind for a while now.

The Minimalist’s Guide to Setting and Achieving Goals I stumbled across this post when I was setting my New Years Resolutions for 2015, and I agree 100% with everything in here. I highly recommend this read!

Tiny Buddha

A recent discovery, but this blog has quickly risen to the top of my reading list, the site is founded and run by the amazing Lori, but is not limited to one person’s experiences, it is a vast collection of stories and life lessons from readers of all ages. It has been very accurately introduced as a site where ‘you will find posts about happiness, motivation, inspiration, love, relationships, meaning, possibilities, mindfulness, and letting go.’ Although many of the attitudes and ideas discussed are rooted in Buddhism, this is not about religion.

My pick of posts:

When You Feel Behind: How to Turn Envy into Positive Action– Come on, admit it! We all have moments when we feel envious or jealous of others around you; but what does being jealous do for you except making you feel inferior and lacking? Stop comparing yourself with others and measuring your worth in accordance to their success or accomplishments. We are all on our own journey, learn to recognize that! And in instances that pesky green-eyed monster pops up, know how to knock him out of the way and keep being your fabulous self!

The Power of Starting Small and Not Needing To Be the Best– This was a post that I found very powerful and was able to relate to on a personal level. Ever since a very young age, I approached all my tasks with a highly competitive mindset; I needed to be the best or I would give up completely. Looking back now, I thinkthat was one of my biggest weaknesses and it took the fun out of everything, the experience was no longer bringing me joy, instead I was stressed and under pressure all the time. This post bought all of that home to me and helped me to recognize the futility of needing to be the ‘best’.

Well, that is all from me for now, the sun is finally shining in Melbourne- and I’m off to enjoy the outdoors before it suddenly starts pouring with rain! Enjoy the rest of your weekend and Happy Sunday!

Love, Jenny xxx

———-

ImageCredit

Leave a Reply

