The Green Smoothie That Doesn’t Taste Green At All..

Oh dear, I’m truly very sorry about how slack I have been with updating my blog. Biomedicine is a lot more time consuming than I expected, but now that I have formed a routine for myself, I do hope I will be able to post more regularly.
I can’t believe it’s already been one whole month of uni, I have very much been enjoying every aspect of my new life here in Melbourne. Though I must admit, there are times when I miss home desperately, when I’m craving a big hug from mum or needing words of encouragement. But the absence of all that, has spurred me to become more independent- to look within myself for those needs and wants. And it has indeed been a very rewarding and eyeopening experience.

Whoever told you "carbs make you fat", is telling you the biggest lie. EVER.

Whoever told you “carbs make you fat”, is telling you the biggest lie. EVER.

So whilst I am busy with studying and extracurriculars, I cannot stress enough the importance of adequate nutrition! It makes all the difference to your performance and energy levels throughout the day. Smoothies are a great choice, because you can throw in a bunch of antioxidant and nutrient rich foods, blend it up within seconds, and drink it on the go!
The following green smoothie recipe is probably my favourite ever- and I don’t say that lightly because, I admit some green smoothies I’ve had taste like liquified grass… But I promise this one doesn’t!

Just look at that amazing light green colour!!

Just look at that amazing light green colour!!

Yummiest Green Smoothie Ever
Makes 1L

4 frozen ripe bananas
2-4tbsp. organic coconut sugar
1tsp. organic maca powder
3 handfuls of kale leaves
3/4c. chilled almond milk

Remember you need to freeze your bananas the night (or at least several hours) in advance to making this recipe, simply peel and cut fresh bananas into chunks, pop inside a ziplock bag or container and leave it inside the freezer overnight.

1. Add the kale leaves to the blender with the almond milk and blend until smooth.
2. Now add in the frozen bananas, blend, and finally the coconut sugar and maca.
3. Feel free to adjust the consistency of the smoothie- add more almond milk if you prefer it thinner, or more frozen bananas if you like your smoothie thick and creamy.
4. Once all ingredients have been combined, pour of and serve immediately.

Enjoy!

Love, Jenny xxx

2 thoughts on “The Green Smoothie That Doesn’t Taste Green At All..

Leave a Reply

