All Seasons Salad SANDWICH! Feat. Beetroot Dip <3

If any of you remember my eating habits from three years ago, I was all about salads. I wouldn’t even take a second look at any other options on the menu, I would flip straight to the salad section, and from there I would narrow down to the option with the most green, definitely no potatoes, carrots or any sort of root vegetables, no croutons, wild rice or any carbs. Boy, have I grown since then… Looking back at my past self, I can’t believe I was paying $30.00 for a scarce plate of lettuce varieties… Fast forward to today, I would never order a salad at a restaurant- unless it is the only available vegan option- in which case I would be sure to eat a proper meal before or afterwards.

So in remembrance of those salad days, I decided to upgrade it by adding some sustenance to it. Sandwiches are not something I eat often, as most bread has a fair amount of sodium, but every now and then doesn’t hurt! When buying bread remember to read the ingredients to ensure they are all vegan and try to choose a brand which has sodium under 300mg per 100g.

I call this ‘all seasons’ because the ingredients in this recipe are all readily available throughout the year (: I also got the chance to try out this beetroot dip from Organic Indulgence, which I complemented the recipe perfectly. This meal is quick to prep and super yummy- great for a packed lunch or picnics! Check out the recipe below.

Picked up this baby from the market today. BEST DECISION EVER <3 (excuse the horrible lighting in my apartment...)

Picked up this baby from the market today. BEST DECISION EVER

A mid-assembly snap- let's take a moment to appreciate those beautiful vibrant colours!

A mid-assembly snap- let’s take a moment to appreciate those beautiful vibrant colours!

All Seasons Salad SANDWICH!

Makes 2 Sandwiches = 1 Serving

INGREDIENTS

  • 4 slices of vegan gluten free bread (NOTE: dairy free ≠ vegan- Make sure you check the ingredients list for traces of egg!)
  • 4 medium sized tomatoes
  • 2 medium carrots or 3 smaller
  • Generous handful of alfalfa sprouts
  • Organic Indulgence Beetroot dip

METHOD

  1. Prep the carrots- by first peeling it, then continue using the peeler to create thin strips out of the entire carrot. Wash the tomatoes and cut into slices.
  2. Assembly: Take the slices of bread, start by spreading beetroot dip over each slice, now add a layer of carrots, followed by the sprouts and tomatoes. Now close two of the slices together producing two lovely sandwiches!
  3. Pack for lunch or start eating (:

Enjoy!

Love, Jenny xxx

Disclaimer: I am not sponsored, all the above are my genuine honest opinions, I only recommend products if I use them and love them!

Leave a Reply

